The Skateboard Moms' Blog

A Blog by Women Skaters, for People Everywhere.

What’s your story? September 17, 2007

Filed under: moms,mothers,skateboarding,women — skateboardmoms @ 5:21 pm

Skatemom Lisa in Colorado

Skatemom Lisa does the Daffy in Colorado.

When you see someone who’s struggling to learn a trick or just to remain upright, be encouraging. I often struggle to do something new and could use your help and encouragement.

Please don’t think I’ll learn as quickly as you; face it, I’m 43 and not in the best shape. If I fall, it takes me longer to get up, longer to heal. It has nothing to do with the fact that I’m a woman. It’s just harder somehow after all of these years off the board.

I broke both femurs, shattered knees and one ankle in an auto accident years ago. I still have a titanium rod from hip to knee and lots of hardware. My legs are uneven and my memory is not the best from a closed brain injury. I’m not whining though; I’m stoked!

I’m actually doing this again . . . and I can! Yeah, I’m pretty proud of myself too. I’m healed and nobody can see the scars under my kneepads, shorts and shoes.

So if you see me struggling with something, cheer me on!!!! I’m doing little carves and going with the flow and falling and getting right back up.

If you’re thinking about getting out there and skating, now’s the time. If I can do it so can you! I’ll be there cheering you on!

Skatemom Lisa in CO (Brokengirl)

 

One Response to “What’s your story?”

  1. Joie Says:

    Hey Brokengirl,
    I just starting standing on my skateboard again, Just standing. Seven years ago I had a back injury and it didn’t even have anything to do with skateboarding. Believe that eh? I was 40 yrs old when I started, but I don’t want to give up. I have to learn very very slowly how to skate again and I have to do it in a certain way, in a certain order. Right now, I just stand on it and slowly rock back and forth. It feels like I’am not do anything. However, its working the back muscles even if I don’t feel it. When I read your blog, I feel it. I am healed, but its having to start over again, I think, that’s the hardest. Your blog is inspiring. Thanks.
    I would like to hear more about your experience and comeback, I would love to comeback..!

    Like


Leave a Reply

